Projekt

Über uns [Überblick]

COURAGE ist ein internationaler Forschungsverbund, der sich mit kultureller Opposition in Ost- und Südosteuropa während der Zeit des Staatssozialismus beschäftigt.

Wir denken, dass Kultur in Ost- und Südosteuropa vor 1989 mehr bedeutete als sozialistischer Realismus oder öde Propaganda. Trotz Zensur und Vorgaben der Machthaber entstanden lebendige alternative Szenen für widerständige und kritische Aktivitäten, welche die Staatsmacht herausforderten.

Wir befassen uns deshalb mit unterschiedlichen Aspekten von Non-Konformismus, Avantgardekunst, Dissens und alternativen Bildungsinitiativen ebenso wie mit Subkulturen, Menschenrechts-, Friedens- und Umweltbewegungen, nicht zuletzt auch mit Identitäten und Formen des Zusammenlebens, die sich gegen die kommunistische Hegemonie richteten.

COURAGE erforscht dieses reiche und vielfältige Erbe, in dem es private und öffentliche Sammlungen der kulturellen Opposition während des Staatssozialismus in einer umfangreichen digitalen Datenbank erfasst und vergleichend analysiert.

Wir zeigen, welche Rolle diese Erbschaft in ihren jeweiligen Gesellschaften spielt und wie die Sammlungen ihre Bestände und Erkenntnisse der nationalen und internationalen Öffentlichkeit vermitteln.

Damit helfen wir die Überlieferung der kulturellen Opposition im Staatssozialismus als Teil eines gemeinsamen europäischen Erbes zu bewahren.

COURAGE wird kulturellen Dissens lebendig machen!

Registrieren Sie sich bei COURAGE! – Geben auch Sie Ihre Sammlung in die Datenbank ein!   Kontakt

COURAGE (“Cultural Opposition – Understanding the CultuRal HeritAGE of Dissent in the Former Socialist Countries”) ist ein dreijähriges internationales Forschungsprojekt, das von „Horizon 2020“ gefördert wird, dem Rahmenprogramm für Forschung und Innovation der Europäischen Union.

 

Grundinformationen

COURAGE. Kulturelle Opposition: Das kulturelle Erbe von Dissens im Sozialismus verstehen

Bewilligungsnummer: 692919

Projekt-Webseite: http://cultural-opposition.eu/

Projektbeginn: 1. Februar 2016

Projektende: 31. Januar 2019

Anzahl der Partner: 12

Geschätzte förderfähige Kosten: 2.484.917,50 Euro

Thema: Kulturelle Opposition in den ehemaligen sozialistischen Staaten

Projekttyp: Forschung und Innovation

Ausschreibung: H2020-REFLECTIVE-2014-2015/H2020-REFLECTIVE-SOCIETY-2015

https://ec.europa.eu/research/participants/portal/desktop/en/opportunities/h2020/topics/440-reflective-4-2015.html

Dieses Projekt wird von „Horizont 2020“, dem Forschungs- und Innovationsprogramm der Europäischen Union, unter der Bewilligungsnummer 692919 finanziert.

Ziele

Das Hauptziel von COURAGE besteht darin, eine umfassende Online-Datenbank zu schaffen mit Beschreibungen von privaten sowie öffentlichen Sammlungen, die Artefakte und Erinnerungen der kulturellen Opposition im Staatssozialismus aufbewahren.

COURAGE identifiziert die verstreut lagernden Sammlungen zu Nonkonformismus, Dissens und kulturellem Eigensinn in den staatssozialistischen Gesellschaften Europas des 20. Jahrhunderts. Das Projekt überführt dieses Wissen in eine Online-Datenbank, die den betreffenden Sammlungen – ob klein oder groß, ob professionell oder ehrenamtlich betreut – eine größere Sichtbarkeit verschafft. COURAGE stellt das Erbe kulturellen Widerstands in einen breiten sozialen, politischen und kulturellen Kontext und will damit die Aufmerksamkeit für dieses Phänomen vergrößern.

COURAGE erforscht

  1. die Entstehung und Entwicklung von privaten und öffentlichen Sammlungen zu Akten des kulturellen Widerstands in den ehemals staatssozialistischen Staaten Europas, wobei den Übergängen von Opposition zum Mainstream und von „privat“ zu „öffentlich“ besondere Aufmerksamkeit geschenkt wird;
  2. die Rolle sowie die Nutzung der Sammlungen vor 1989 und danach sowie die Bemühungen der nationalen Regierungen, diese zu bewahren, zu erhalten oder zu ergänzen;
  3. die Rolle der im Exil Lebenden bei der Unterstützung, Bewahrung und Verbreitung dieser Sammlungen diesseits und jenseits des Eisernen Vorhangs sowie die Rolle von Sammlungen, die von den Exilgemeinden selbst geschaffen wurden;
  4. die materielle Ebene der Sammlungen: Welche Dokumente, Artefakte, audio-visuelle und andere Materialien wurden als wertvoll genug angesehen, um gesammelt und bewahrt zu werden? Welche Materialien wurden als wichtige potentielle historische Quellen erachtet? Und welche Materialien wurden nicht aufgenommen bzw. wieder aussortiert oder gar vernichtet?
  5. die Praktiken der Katalogisierung, Organisation und Verwaltung der Sammlungen;
  6. den gesellschaftlichen Hintergrund und die Lebensverläufe der Menschen, die mit den Sammlungen verbunden sind;
  7. die Strukturen der Institutionen und Interessengruppen, die hinter den Sammlungen stehen, ebenso wie die rechtlichen Rahmenbedingungen und finanziellen Hintergründe und die Besitzverhältnisse sowie die soziale und kulturelle Zusammensetzung ihres Publikums und die Verwendung der Sammlungen in der historischen Forschung und Kultur;
  8. die Formen der Vernetzung und die Möglichkeiten der Zusammenarbeit verschiedener Arten von Sammlungen: Welches sind die bestehenden und möglichen Formen der Zusammenarbeit und öffentlichen Darstellung? Und wie können Strategien entwickelt werden, die die Kooperation von Sammlungen und ihre Sichtbarkeit fördern?

Partner

MTA BTK– Geisteswissenschaftliches Zentrum der Ungarischen Akademie der Wissenschaften , Budapest (Projektkoordinator)

IFIS PAN – Institut für Philosophie und Soziologie an der Polnischen Akademie der Wissenschaften, Warschau

TCD – Trinity College Dublin

IOS Regensburg – Institut für Ost- und Südosteuropaforschung, Regensburg

MTA TK – Zentrum für Sozialwissenschaften an der Ungarischen Akademie der Wissenschaften, Budapest

LII – Litauisches Institut für Geschichte, Vilnius

CUNI – Karls-Universität Prag

UB – Universität Bukarest

HIP – Kroatisches Institut für Geschichte, Zagreb

Comenius Universität in Bratislava

Universität Oxford

MTA SZTAKI – Institut für Informatik, Ungarische Akademie der Wissenschaften, Budapest

 

Treffen

Kick-off Workshop in Budapest (richtigen link hinzufügen)

Zweiter Workshop in Warschau (richtigen link hinzufügen)

Dritter Workshop in Prag

 

Leistungen

D6 Second_workshop_report

courage (slides presenting COURAGE – EN)

 

Durchführung

COURAGE wird eine Reihe innovativer Maßnahmen ergreifen:

Entwicklung einer Datenbank

Einrichtung eines Web-Portals, um die Vernetzung der Sammlungen zu fördern

Bereitstellung von Online-Lehrmaterial

Publikation eines Handbuchs

Kuratieren von Ausstellungen

Organisation von Filmfestivals

Schulung von Interessenvertretern, Experten und Wissenschaftlern in der Verwendung der Datenbank und Hilfe bei der Registrierung für die Datenbank

Sammlungen

COURAGE bedeutet Sammlungen.

Die Online-Datenbank wird eine Fülle nützlicher Informationen zu den wichtigsten Sammlungen und Schätzen der kulturellen Opposition bereitstellen. Dadurch wird die Netzwerkbildung sowie die Lehre und Forschung über kulturelle Formen von Opposition im Staatssozialismus gefördert.

COURAGE erstellt ein Register der Sammlungen zu verschiedenen Formen kultureller Opposition in allen früheren sozialistischen Staaten, die heute Mitglied oder Beitrittskandidat der Europäischen Union sind. Im Rahmen des Projekts werden standardisierte Beschreibungen der Sammlungen und Werkzeuge entwickelt, die die Datenbank benutzerfreundlich und leicht durchsuchbar machen. Ein innovativer Aspekt unseres Ansatzes liegt in der Berücksichtigung der sozialen und kulturellen Aktivitäten, die aus den Sammlungen hervorgehen und die das Potential eines Archivs als Repositorium des kulturellen Erbes ausdrücken.

Folglich geht das Projekt weit über die bloße Schaffung eines Registers der Sammlungen zur kulturellen Opposition hinaus. Es will ein nuanciertes Verständnis über das Wirken dieser Sammlungen ermöglichen und verstehen, welchem Zweck sie in den jeweiligen Gesellschaften dienen. Es will erfahren, wie der Bestand und die aus den Sammlungen gewonnenen Erkenntnisse der nationalen und internationalen Öffentlichkeit vermittelt werden. Das generelle Ziel dieser Analyse ist es, den Bekanntheitsgrad und die Wirksamkeit dieser Sammlungen zu erhöhen, indem die historischen Ursprünge und das Vermächtnis der unterschiedlichen Formen kultureller Opposition erforscht und vermittelt werden.

Glauben Sie, dass eine wichtige Sammlung in der Datenbank fehlt?

Machen Sie mit, zeigen sie COURAGE!

 

JOIN the COURAGE registry!

Ausstellung

COURAGE bedeutet Ausstellung.

Eine Ausstellung soll das in vielen Fällen wenig bekannte Wirken der kulturellen Opposition sowie die Geschichten ihrer Protagonisten anhand von Bildmaterial und erst kürzlich erschlossenen Dokumenten aus den Archiven zugänglich machen.

COURAGE wird für die breite Öffentlichkeit Wanderausstellungen organisieren, die auch online zugänglich sein werden.

Die Ausstellungen beleuchten die „geheimen Pfade“ der Oppositionskultur: transnationale Verbindungen, Kommunikationswege zwischen Ost und West und den damit verwobenen Subkulturen (wie etwa Punks, Hippies, Straßenmusikanten, Jazz-Musiker auf Tournee und Teilnehmer kirchlicher Jugendtreffen). Wir wollen junge, politisch engagierte Kulturschaffende erreichen und zugleich innovative Methoden entwickeln, um die Besitzer von Sammlungen auf uns aufmerksam zu machen. Wir rufen Zeitzeuginnen und Zeitzeugen auf, sich mit ihren Sammlungen einzubringen.

 

 

Strategie

COURAGE bedeutet neue Herangehensweisen.

Strategiepapiere sollen Entscheidungsträgern und Förderern die gesellschaftliche Bedeutung der Sammlungen nahebringen und ein Forum bieten, in dem Projekte von allgemeinem gesellschaftlichen Interesse diskutiert werden können.

Länderberichte werden politisch Verantwortlichen Entscheidungsträgern das Denken, das den Sammlungen zugrunde liegt, ihre Funktionsweise und ihre Entwicklung vom Spätsozialismus bis heute nahebringen. Die Akteure mit ihren Hoffnungen und Strategien werden dabei besonders berücksichtigt, und wichtige Veränderungen in den Sammlungen werden in den Kontext ihrer politischen, rechtlichen, finanziellen und kulturellen Bedingungen gestellt.

COURAGE wird Empfehlungen vorbereiten, in denen wichtige Fragen angesprochen werden, die die Zukunft der Sammlungen betreffen. Die Empfehlungen sollen potentielle Verwendungsmöglichkeiten des Erbes der kulturellen Opposition entwerfen, wie etwa eine Ausstellung im Haus der Europäischen Geschichte.

 

Forschung

COURAGE bedeutet Forschung.

Die Forschungsarbeiten werden ausgewiesene Kenner der früheren kulturellen Opposition zusammenbringen, die ihre Ergebnisse in einem fundierten und detailreichen Handbuch veröffentlichen.

Damit wird Wissenschaftlern und Verantwortlichen der Sammlungen eine Reihe von Analysen zur Genese, den institutionellen Rahmenbedingungen und zur gesellschaftlichen Relevanz der Sammlungen über kulturelle Opposition in den ehemaligen staatssozialistischen Ländern bereitgestellt.

 

Lehre [Curriculum]

COURAGE bedeutet Lehre.

Das Online-Lehrmaterial beleuchtet das verborgene und weniger bekannte Kulturleben in den staatssozialistischen Gesellschaften. Es wird das Lehren und Lernen über diesen Zeitabschnitt erleichtern.

Dafür produziert das Projekt Lehrmaterialien, die in vielfältigen Kontexten Anwendung finden. COURAGE wird die Geschichte der kulturellen Opposition mit konkreten Personen, Orten und sozialen Gruppen in Beziehung setzen und dabei auch eine Verbindungherstellen zum sozialen Umfeld der heutigen Jugend.

 

Training

COURAGE bedeutet Know-how.

Schulungen werden eine Möglichkeit zur Vernetzung von Interessenvertretern der Sammlungen, Experten und Wissenschaftler bieten; dabei soll auch in die Verwendung der COURAGE Datenbank eingeführt werden.

Die Schulungen sollen

  • Informationen und Ratschläge zur Verwendung des COURAGE-Registers bereitstellen;
  • dabei helfen, die Sammlungen pädagogisch sinnvoll zu nutzen;
  • den Verantwortlichen zeigen, wie die Sammlungen mit Hilfe internationaler und nationaler Kultur- und Wissenschaftsfonds und durch internationale Ausstellungen noch wirkungsvoller präsentiert werden können.

 

Film Festival

COURAGE bedeutet bewahren und weitergeben.

Dokumentarfilmfestivals sollen eine Gelegenheit bieten, die zeitgenössische Jugendkultur mit Experten und früheren Dissidenten zusammenzubringen. Wir ermutigen die jüngere Generation, sich mit dieser Vergangenheit zu beschäftigen und dabei zu erkennen, welche Bedeutung kultureller Eigensinn haben kann.

Dokumentarfilmfestivals in Budapest, Warschau, Prag und Bukarest bringen Jugendliche mit den damaligen Protagonistinnen und Protagonisten kultureller Opposition im Staatssozialismus zusammen. COURAGE ermutigt die Jugendlichen, sich an die Opposition gegen autoritäre Herrschaft im 20. Jahrhundert als Teil ihres gemeinsamen europäischen Erbes zu erinnern.

Partner

Medien

Nachrichten

COURAGE presented in Brussels at the conference Understanding Europe – Promoting the European Public and Cultural Space

2016.10.12. 14:25

17 October 2016, Brussels The conference Understanding Europe – Promoting the European Public and Cultural Space addresses the key issues […]

Lesen Sie weiter ... »»

Zielgruppen

Die wichtigste Zielgruppe sind das Archivpersonal und die Sammlerinnen und Sammler. COURAGE will dabei helfen, die Sammlungen einem größeren nationalen und internationalen Publikum zugänglich zu machen. 

Sammlungen  Strategie Schulungen/Weiterbildungen

Eine zweite Zielgruppe sind Wissenschaftler und Lehrende weltweit für die das Register der Sammlungen zur kulturellen Opposition im Staatssozialismus sowohl wichtiges Werkzeug als auch Grundlage für neue Forschung sein wird.

Sammlungen  Strategie Forschung 

Eine dritte Zielgruppe umfasst politische Entscheidungsträger auf lokaler und nationaler Ebene, in der Europäischen Kommission und weiteren europäischen Institutionen. COURAGE gibt Empfehlungen bezogen auf die Bedeutung der Sammlungen für Wissenschaft und Bildung.

Sammlungen Strategie

Als vierte Zielgruppe wendet sich COURAGE an die junge Generation (Schüler, Studenten, junge Berufstätige). Mit Hilfe audio-visueller und neuer sozialer Medien werden die Wertvorstellungen und das Vermächtnis kultureller Opposition als persönliches Erlebnis erfahrbar gemacht.

Ausstellung Lehre [Curriculum]  Film Festival

 

 

Veranstaltungen

Kontakt

Project

About Us (Overview)

We are an international academic community interested in cultural dissent under Socialism in Eastern Europe.

We think that culture in Eastern Europe before 1989 meant more than socialist realism and dull propaganda art: at certain times and places alternative cultural scenes flourished despite the strict controls of socialist regimes.

We do research that tackles this rich and colourful legacy of cultural opposition in the former socialist countries of Eastern Europe by exploring and comparing collections on cultural opposition.

We tell stories of non-conformist avant-garde art, anti-establishment religious movements, civic initiatives for unofficial education and publication, dissident movements, underground punk and rock bands, alternative ways of life, even novel spiritual practices, and many more.

We create the first digital database of both online and offline private and public collections in Europe which testify to the survival of various forms of cultural opposition in the former socialist countries.

We show how these collections work, what functions they serve in their respective societies, and how they represent their holdings and findings to the national and international public.

We will recognize forms of dissent during the communist regimes and preserve these as part of our common European heritage.

We want to turn cultural dissent alive.

Join the  COURAGE registry! Submit your collection Contact

COURAGE (“Cultural Opposition – Understanding the CultuRal HeritAGE of Dissent in the Former Socialist Countries”) is a three-year international research project funded by Horizon 2020, the EU Framework Programme for Research and Innovation.

Basic info
COURAGE
Cultural Opposition: Understanding the Cultural Heritage of Dissent in the Former Socialist Countries

Grant agreement No: 692919
Project Website: http://cultural-opposition.eu/
Starting Date of Action: 1 February 2016
End Date of Action: 31 January 2019
Number of Partners: 12
Estimated eligible costs (EUR): 2 484 917.50
Topic: Cultural opposition in the former socialist countries
Type of action: Research and Innovation action
Call: H2020-REFLECTIVE-2014-2015/H2020-REFLECTIVE-SOCIETY-2015
https://ec.europa.eu/research/participants/portal/desktop/en/opportunities/h2020/topics/reflective-4-2015.html
This project has received funding from the European Union’s Horizon 2020 research and innovation programme under grant agreement No 692919.

Objectives

COURAGE will create a comprehensive online database (digital registry) of existing but scattered collections on the histories and forms of cultural opposition in the former socialist countries and thereby make them more accessible.

It will analyse these collections in their broader social, political and cultural contexts. The general aim of this analysis is to allow for the expanded outreach and increased impact of the collections by assessing the historical origins and legacies of various forms of cultural opposition.

COURAGE explores

  1. the genesis and trajectories of private and public collections on cultural opposition movements in former socialist countries in Europe, with particular consideration given to how their transition from opposition to mainstream and private to public occurred;
  2. the political and social roles and uses of the collections before 1989 and since, and the efforts that have been made by national governments to preserve, maintain or add to them;
  3. the role of exiles in supporting, preserving and disseminating these collections beyond the Iron Curtain and back home, and the uses of collections that were created by the exile community;
  4. material culture represented by these documents, objects and audio-visual footage: what was and was not regarded as worthy of collection and preservation, what objects were deemed important as potential historical sources or relics and what objects were omitted or discarded?;
  5. the organization and the order of the collections as they are represented, particularly in the dataset and reference systems: how is the material collected?;
  6. the social background and life trajectories of the working staff of the collections;
  7. the sociology of institutions, stakeholders, their legal frameworks, financial backgrounds, ownership and management, the social and cultural composition of their audiences and the uses to which the collections are put in historical studies and culture;
  8. the networking and cooperative capacity of different types of collections: what are the existing and possible forms of cooperation and public presentation, and how can we contribute to the development of strategies with which to strengthen cooperation among the collections?

Partners

MTA BTK– Research Centre for the Humanities, Hungarian Academy of Sciences

IFIS PAN – Institute of Philosophy and Sociology, Polish Academy of Sciences

TCD – Trinity College Dublin

IOS Regensburg – Institute for East and Southeast European Studies, University of Regensburg

MTA TK – Centre for Social Sciences, Hungarian Academy of Sciences

LII – Lithuanian Institute of History

CUNI – Charles University in Prague

UB – University of Bucharest

HIP – Croatian Institute of History

Comenius University in Bratislava

The University of Oxford

MTA SZTAKI – Institute for Computer Science and Control

Meetings (Events)

Resources (Deliverables)

Activities

COURAGE will develop an innovative range of activities:

We create an online database

We launch a web portal to enhance the cooperative capacity of the collections

We generate online teaching material

We publish a handbook

We curate exhibitions

We organize film festivals

We train stakeholders, experts, and scholars on how to use and how to join the registry

We cooperate with projects such as…

CoHERE (Critical Heritages: Performing & Representing Identities in Europe)

UNREST (Unsettling Remembering and Social Cohesion in Transnational Europe)

Arches (Accessible Resources for Cultural Heritage EcoSystems)

Voices (Voices of the 20th Century Archive and Research Group)

Collections (Registry)

COURAGE means registry.

The online database of collections (registry) will provide an abundance of useful information on the most exciting collections and treasures of cultural opposition for the purposes of network building, learning and research.

COURAGE creates a registry of collections that relate to various forms of cultural opposition in a vast geographical area embracing all member and potential member states of the EU in the former socialist bloc. We produce standardized descriptions of the collections and tools that make the registry easily usable and searchable. The most innovative aspect of our approach lies in its inclusion of the social and cultural practices generated by the collections, which themselves represent measures of faith in the potential of the archive as a repository of the past.

Thus, the project goes far beyond the mere creation of a registry of the collections on cultural opposition. It will further a more nuanced understanding of how these collections work, what functions they serve in their respective societies, and how they represent their holdings and findings to the national and international public. The general aim of this analysis is to expand the outreach and increase the impact of these collections by assessing the historical origins and legacies of the various forms of cultural opposition.

Do you think a fascinating collection is missing from the registry?

JOIN the COURAGE registry!

Exhibition

COURAGE means exhibition.

The exhibition will give access to the hitherto less known masterpieces of cultural opposition as well as the interesting ways of life of its members through fascinating visual footage and freshly disclosed archival documents.

COURAGE will produce both an online and an offline (travelling) exhibition for the general public. The exhibitions will highlight the “secret paths” of opposition culture: transnational linkages, ways of East-West communication and entangled subcultures (punks, hippies, hobos, jazz tours and Church camps). We will reach out to young, politically engaged urban subcultures and develop innovative methods to mobilize collections and collection holders. We will encourage witnesses and contemporaries, local communities and private owners to include their collections make them part of the exhibitions.

Policy

COURAGE means new policy.

Policy documents will help decision makers and funders to recognize the social impact and use of the collections of cultural opposition, and will provide a forum for them to discuss projects of common interest.

Country reports for policy makers will address how the concepts and institutions that govern the collections were established and how they have evolved from the late socialist period to the present day. Major actors, hopes and strategies will be mapped, and major changes put in the context of the political, legal, financial and cultural conditions of the collections.

COURAGE will prepare a set of recommendations for policy makers addressing crucial questions pertaining to the future of the collections. The recommendations will suggest potential uses of the heritage of cultural opposition—in particular, an exhibition in the House of European History.

Research

COURAGE means research.

Research activities will bring the top experts of the former cultural opposition together to produce high quality and relevant knowledge in the form of an innovative, abundantly detailed handbook.

The goal of the handbook is to create, for researchers and stakeholders of the collections, a set of analyses that compare the genesis, institutional framing and social uses of the collections on cultural opposition in the former socialist countries.

Education

COURAGE means education.

The online education material will bring to light the hidden and lesser known cultural life of the former socialist countries and will facilitate teaching and learning about the period.

COURAGE will develop online teaching material (a curriculum) for students and teachers that can be used effectively in various contexts. COURAGE will connect the opposition movements’ values and history to personal milieus, locations and social groups. It will link these to the families and social histories of contemporary youth.

Training

COURAGE means know-how.

Training days will provide opportunities for new network developments among stakeholders of the collections, experts and scholars; training days will also give them the opportunity to learn about the uses of COURAGE registry.

This training will provide

  • information and advice on how to use the COURAGE register
  • how to use the collections in a more effective way for pedagogical purposes,
  • how the stakeholders of the collections can represent their collections more effectively with the assistance of international and national cultural and scientific funds and through international exhibitions.

Film festival

COURAGE means care.

The documentary festivals will be events in which visual experience brings contemporary youth culture together with experts and former dissidents. We encourage younger generations to care about the past, and to realize that cultural opposition matters.

COURAGE will organize a series of thematic documentary film festivals and connected round-tables about cultural opposition in the former socialist countries. These documentary festivals will be held in Budapest, Warsaw, Prague and Bucharest. The festivals will also promote the collections of cultural opposition by including guest speakers who will be invited to comment upon how their holdings relate to the themes of the films.

Partners

Media

News

Lively Discussion on Bulgarian Cultural Opposition in Sofia: COURAGE Hits the News

2016.12.04. 22:38

The Institute for Ethnology and Folklore Studies with Ethnographic Museum – Bulgarian Academy of Sciences hosted a roundtable discussion on […]

read more »»

COURAGE for Reimagining Cultural Heritage: Conference in Berlin

2016.11.30. 21:09

COURAGE was presented by Sándor Horváth in Berlin at the international conference  “Cultural Heritage: Reuse, Remake, Reimagine” hosted by Europeana […]

read more »»

COURAGE Raised Interest in Washington, D.C.

2016.11.28. 10:55

The project was presented to the audience of the 48th Annual Convention of the Association for Slavic, East European & Eurasian […]

read more »»

Movie Marathon on Underground Cultural Scenes Organized by Czech COURAGE Team in Prague

2016.11.23. 01:44

The Czech COURAGE team organized an all day movie screening for students, teachers and visitors of the Faculty of Arts […]

read more »»

Slovak COURAGE Team Invited Local Youth to Discuss Urban Subcultures with Academics and Featured Guest, Rapper Vladimír 518

2016.11.22. 17:37

On 15 November 2016, the Musicology Department at Comenius University in Bratislava organised a non-scholarly conference and workshop commemorating the 27th […]

read more »»

Target Groups

The primary target group of COURAGE is the professional staff and stakeholders of the collections. COURAGE will strengthen their standing by making the collections readily accessible to the wider national and international public.

Collections Policy Training days

The second target group is the global community of academics and teachers. For them, the online database will serve both as an instructional tool and as a gateway for further research.

Collections Policy Research

The third target group includes policy makers at the local and national levels, and the European Commission and other European institutions. COURAGE will produce a set of policy recommendations concerning the use of collections for research and education.

Collections Policy

The fourth target group is the young generation (school classes, students, young professionals).

Exhibition Education Film festival

Through attractive audio-visual tools, interactive activities and contemporary social media, COURAGE will transform the values and legacy of cultural opposition into a personal experience for them.

Events

Contact